Skip to content
  •      About OUHK     

  •      Admissions     

  •      Academics     

  •     Administration    

  •      Library     

  •     Research    

  • Council

    case OUHK/stItemidDesc2014 end

    Functions of the Council

    The Council is the supreme governing body of the University. It has general control over the administration of the University and the conduct of its affairs. On behalf of the University, it may exercise any of the powers conferred and shall perform all of the duties imposed by law on the University. 

    Membership of the Council

    • Mr. Michael WONG Yick-kam, MH, JP
    Deputy Chairman:  
    • Ir. Dr. Conrad WONG Tin-cheung, BBS, JP
    • Mr. Peter WAN Kam-to
    • Prof. Paul LAM Kwan-sing, SBS, JP
    Vice Presidents:  
    • Prof. Reggie KWAN Ching-ping (Provost)   
    • Prof. Ricky KWOK Yu-kwong
    • Prof. LUI Yu-hon, MH
    Public Officer appointed by the Chief Executive:  
    • Mr. Esmond LEE Chung-sin
    Members appointed by the Council:  
    • Prof. John LEE Chi-kin, JP
    • Prof. TAM Kar-yan, MH, JP
    • Prof. WONG Kwok-yin
    • Prof. Joan ZUO Zhong
    Members appointed by the Chief Executive:  
    • Mr. Anthony CHAN Tung-shan
    • Prof. Emily CHAN Ying-yang
    • Dr. Albert CHAU Wai-lap
    • Ms. Diana CHEN Ningning, BBS, JP
    • Mr. Arnold CHENG Ka-kui
    • Mr. Alan CHEUNG Yick-lun, MH
    • Miss Yvonne CHOI Ying-pik, GBS, JP
    • Dr. CHOW Pak-chin, BBS, JP
    • Ms. Cecilia LEE Sau-wai, JP
    • Ms. Catherine MUN Lee-ming
    • Dr. Homer TSO Wei-kwok, SBS, BBS, JP
    • Mr. Peter YAN King-shun, JP
    • Mr. Gary YEUNG Man-yui, MH
    Members nominated by the Senate:  
    • Prof. William Tsang Wai-nam
    • Dr. Ivy Yau Sui-yu
    Member elected by full-time staff:  
    • Mr. Albert TSE Wai-kwong
    Member elected by part-time tutorial staff:  
    • Mr. Germen HON Tung-hiu
    President of the Students' Union:  
    • Miss Catherine WONG Wing-sum
    Secretary to Council:  
    • Mr. Raymond LEUNG Yu-chiu


    Council Secretariat

    Telephone : 2768 6835          Fax :  2789 1515


    Maintained by: President Office ( )
    Modified Date: Jul 01, 2021

    Accessibility | Privacy policies | Policy on Equal Opportunities | Terms and policies | Webmaster
    © 2022 by The Open University of Hong Kong. All Rights Reserved.
    Site Map Site map
    About OUHK
    President's Message
    Vision & Mission
    Strategic Plan
    Governance & Organization
    Principal Officers
    Honorary Graduates & University Fellows
    Facts & Figures
    Academic Programmes
    Full-time face-to-face undergraduate programmmes
    Face-to-face postgraduate programmes
    Distance learning programmes
    Research degree programmes
    Professional programmes and short courses
    eLearning programmes
    Academic Support & External Links
    Research Office
    Office of Academic Supports
    Student Affairs Office
    OUHK Shenzhen Office
    Administrative Units
    Office for Advancement of Learning and Teaching
    Finance and Facilities Management Unit
    Human Resources Unit
    Information Technology Unit
    Public Affairs Unit
    Full-time face-to-face undergraduate programmmes
    Face-to-face Postgraduate programmes
    Distance learning programmes
    Research degree programmes
    Professional training and short courses
    eLearning programmes
    Annual Report 2015-2016
    Broadcast on TVB Pearl to Enlighten All
    Choose your study programme
    Events Calendar
    Giving to OUHK
    Implementation of a unified academic calendar
    Information for
    Prospective Students
    Current Students
    Jockey Club Home Health Watch Programme
    Media coverage
    Motto: Disce, Progredere, Crea
    Open Learning Resources
    iTunes U
    Open for Learning
    Knowledge Network
    Privacy policies
    Terms and policies
    About Research Office
    Internal R&D Funding
    External R&D Funding
    Ethical Review Regarding Human and Animal Research
    Research Safety Review
    Research Bulletin
    Journal Database
    Visiting Scholars
    Schools and LiPACE
    School of Arts and Social Sciences
    Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration
    School of Education and Languages
    School of Nursing and Health Studies
    School of Science and Technology
    Li Ka Shing School of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
    Site Search
    Social Media
    YouTube Channel
    Student Life & Support
    Students' Achievements
    Switch on to e-materials
    Useful Information
    Adverse weather arrangements
    Campus location
    Job Openings
    Contact us
    Telephone: (852-2711-2100)
    Facsimile: (852-2715-0760)
    View the videos of Full-time Face-to-face Undergraduate Programme selected seminars
    Web for All
    Back To Top